No

Also in the BAR, Meghan Stabler of Austin, Texas, under the heading ‘Trans woman supports HRC’ writes:

I hope that even those who question HRC’s tactics concede it has proven it will be at the forefront of efforts to guarantee all of us protection from workplace discrimination.

Has proven.

Will be.

Has proven that it will be?

I might be able to concede such a point if the Rhode Island Avenue Cesspool of Transphobia shows us that it owns an operational TARDIS, thereby showing that it at least has the ability to prove that something in the future will in fact happen.

HRC, with other leading groups, was instrumental in organizing the first-ever congressional hearing on transgender issues.

Is this person hoping that readers of her missive will forget what else HRC “was instrumental” in doing?

I had the honor of submitting written testimony, and attended that monumental event.

Color me don’t-give-a-shit.

Critics of HRC and its dinner are well-meaning and passionately engaged in the work to make trans inclusion real – as is HRC….  

Bullshit.

I hope that even those who question HRC’s tactics concede it has proven it will be at the forefront of efforts to guarantee all of us protection from workplace discrimination.

No.

I won’t concede such a thing.

Because its a lie.

5 Responses to No

  1. Becky Juro says:

    Posts like this one are a big reason why I love this blog. And people say I’m aggressive…

  2. translegalhistorian says:

    Perhaps I need to do a survey as to what people are saying about me.

  3. Kathy says:

    Just saw this on a newsgroup:

    http://groups.google.com/group/soc.support.transgendered/browse_frm/thread/0ef9b9946afce2f3/5b938259df98078f?lnk=raot#5b938259df98078f

    HRC has hired their new person to polish their image on trans issues.
    They didn’t go with someone who has a long history in the community
    and credibilty by a record of achievements in the community. From her
    blog it appears that she transitioned recently – perhaps witin the
    year.

    Going with a Baptist preacher who makes a point of saying she is never
    confrontational isn’t likely to encourage people. Reminds me of their
    going for Susan Stanton that early in her transition. I wonder how she
    views the Rev. King heritage if she thinks principled confrontation
    isn’t a reasonable tactic.

    Allyson Robinson

    Allyson is our new Associate Director of Diversity. She previously
    served as a Pastor-Teacher in churches in the US as well as in Europe,
    and brings a peaceable nature and persistent spirit to HRC. She enjoys
    spending time with her partner and children, reading, writing, running
    and watching movies. Please join us in welcoming Allyson to the HRC
    team!

    http://crossingthet.wordpress.com/about/

  4. Becky Juro says:

    Heh, Rye Seronie set that up on my show website. It’s not really even about me or the show as much as it is a listener profile to help place well-targeted ads on the site to generate a little something to help cover the expenses of the site.

    I do care what people are saying about me and my work though. It’s always interesting and sometimes even leads to something to write about.

  5. translegalhistorian says:

    After a decade-plus of speaking publicly about HRC’s lies and transphobia, I tend to know what folks are saying about me (or, failing that, I tend to have a pretty good idea as to what is being said.)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

