Lets See How Long This One Lasts [UPDATED]

Yes, this means I had to lie to the Facebook universe by hitting ‘like’ on ‘Equality’ Maryland.  Sometimes technology sucks more than at other times (luckliy, there is the ‘unlike’ option.)

[UPDATE – 10:58 CDT]

I’ll let it speak for itself:

19 Responses to Lets See How Long This One Lasts [UPDATED]

  1. Teresa Reeves says:

    As of 3:11 am PDT March 16, 2011, your post is still there.
    But I did up the stakes with my own posts.

    Teresa Ellen Reeves You all took that first step ten years ago when trans rights were stripped out in a nondiscrimination bill then and the HRC declared Maryland to be a “Discrimination Free Zone” . And now you’ve done it again. If you pass HB 235, trans people may have a right to work but not a right to accommodation. We have that right here in Washington State.
    24 minutes ago · Like

    Teresa Ellen Reeves
    In Washington State trans people have a full right to any of the accommodations, advantages, facilities, or privileges of any place of public resort, accommodation, assemblage or amusement. It includes a right to purchase a service or shop…, and a right of admission to lodging or rental of housing, health services, transportation, entertainment, recreation, dining out, libraries, schools and institutes offering training or education including nursery schools and day care centers and designated places of public purpose like public halls, elevators— and public washrooms occupied by two or more tenants.

    “Sex” means gender. “Sexual orientation” means heterosexuality, bisexuality, and gender expression or identity. As used in this definition, “gender expression or identity” means having a gender identity, self-image, appearance, behavior, or expression, whether or not that gender identity, self-image, appearance, behavior, or expression is different from that traditionally associated with the sex assigned at birth; (Washington State Declaration of Civil Rights (2004)) RCW 49 60.030

  2. Teresa Reeves says:

    In my original post in the last paragraph to EQMD, I left out the word “homosexuality”!
    How could I have possibly forgotten that word?
    But I fixed it and replaced my post to EQMD!
    Anyone want to give odds on them fixing our being left out?
    Something like a snowball in Hell. or Hell freezing over.

    Or maybe it’ll happen when Japan has an earthquake, a tsunami and a nuclear disaster all at the same time! It could actually happen…

  3. Cathy Brennan says:

    Katrina – your homophobia is showing… again.

    • Katrina Rose says:

      From the Bug’s delusionictionary:

      “Homophobia” – noun – Anything that any transsexual says which proves that a homosexual is full of shit. George Takei could call Cathy Brennan a douchebag for her refusal to acknowledge that her trans-subjugation legal theory was bullshit ten years ago and is bullshit now without fear of being accused of committing an act of homophobia because he’s not transsexual.

    • laughriotgirl says:

      Not that you will actually respond Cathy, but how is this post, or Kat’s previous posts at all “homophobic”? I mean, it’s not like she’s promoting a pice of legislation that’s failing to include GLB people. Or is the simple act of disagreeing with, questioning the motivations of, or recalling the history with the cis GLB tantamount to “homophobia”?

    • Kathleen says:

      And she used kittens’ blood as ink to draft this post.

      I thought the appropriate mythical creature for the day was a leprechan – but all we get is trolls. Sigh.

  4. friday jones says:

    Ooo, I haven’t seen a sock puppet like Cathy since Lamb Chop. Your transphobic stalking problem is showing… again.

  5. Cathy Brennan says:

    Katrina, Happy St. Patrick’s Day! This made me think of you – http://thoughtcatalog.com/2011/how-to-have-a-rational-discussion/ – try it sometimes!

    Who is laughriotgirl? Talk about a mythical creature. Here’s a homophobic thought – “Gays and lesbians rammed a bill….” – that’s pure horseshit, and also ignores reality. Gays and lesbians did nothing of the sort. Maybe leave the cold comfort of your lonely padded cell and get out in the sun.

    Kathleen – now you’re talking. Make sure your pussy is locked up!

    • Katrina Rose says:

      So I guess “Gays and lesbians scuttled a bill…” would also be homophobic?

      I look forward to seeing your posts at washingtonblade.com calling Queer Channel Media homophobic.

    • laughriotgirl says:

      Cathy, I think a mythical creature is something that doesn’t exist in real life, like gay and lesbian lawyers working in advocacy positions who would never be perfectly willing to trade in trans women for gay/lesbian-only laws – Now that’s a mythical creature!

      “Gays and lesbians rammed a bill….”

      THAT’s your homophobia? Seriously?? I’m going to assume that to you “homophobia” is anything that doesn’t show a g/l person in the most favorable light. Because there is nothing traditionally “homophobic” in that sentence. Also, there is NOTHING irrational about trans people not initially trusting cis g/l people – you and FSJ, and The folks in MA, NY, NH, John Aravosis, Liz Birch, etc etc etc have proven that is survival and completely rational

      – if it burns your ass that trans people don’t/can’t trust the gay-led organizations that claim to represent us, you may want to think long and hard about how and why that is. Really think about it.

  6. Cathy Brennan says:

    Friday Jones – use your real name, and I’ll happy meet you for coffee to chat if you live in Maryland and have half a brain. I promise you though, I have no interest in putting my hand up your ass and working you like a puppet.

    Be brave. Come out as a human. Treat others as humans. You might then be treated as a human.

  7. transgriot says:

    ‘To deny any person their human rights is to challenge their very humanity’ Nelson Mandela

    Gay people have been doing that to transpeople since Sylvia Rivera was kicked out of the GLF in the 1970’s

  8. Teresa Reeves says:

    Gay people have been doing that to transpeople…

    Since I was humiliated and degraded by gay and lesbian students and faculty in USC graduate school for being a transsexual from 1983-1985, where a professor called me “a traitor to gay men” for not wanting to be one.

    And since I denied was work as a Counseling Intern in a Laguna Beach Clinic by a transphobic gay supervisor 1985 & 1986 because he was afraid that “the community might find out a transsexual was working there”.

    And since a counselor colleague and his friend a Long Beach gay community leader and president of a Gay Dignity chapter tried to get me fired from my job as a counseling intern at GLCSC- Garden Grove in 1987 for “finding it necessary to change sex”. They were in fear that I would talk naive, vulnerable young gay men in the process of coming out into becoming a woman!

    And since a new transphobic lesbian administrator, outed me, resulting in 4 lesbians threatening me with violence, my ejection from the Womanspace and my being purged from my job in 1988, despite 1500 hours of service, 900 hours with lesbians and earning them $25,000!

    And in 2008, after I had been homeless for almost 7 years after being the sole caregiver for my mother for 6 years who died from Alzheimer’s, I came back to the world after years of isolation and depression to find an in indifferent community. I joined the leading transgender organization in Seattle where I found my offers to facilitate there were ignored despite my training and experience as a counselor.

    And since I first found myself lovingly accepted then shunned and excluded from a local lesbian group in Seattle who had let me carry their banner in the 2009 Seattle Dyke March. They said I wasn’t a “real” woman or lesbian!
    When I sent a letter of complaint to the editor of the Gay-Inc. controlled Seattle Gay News, it was ignored.

    But I found acceptance since 2008 as a respected woman among women as an advocate, writer, facilitator and speaker for homeless people with Seattle WHEEL (Women’s Housing Equality & Enhancement League), Antioch Women’s Education Project and Real Change News.

    I found my way onto Facebook one year ago, and my ability to write, advocate and network drew national attention and I was able to build a mostly trans network of friends to 3,000 people and I became involved with a national trans organization that is sadly now defunct.

    But for three years I have been ignored by the local L, T & LGBT communities here. But when I was named President of Gender Identity Empowerment Coalition late in 2010, I came under fire from one of the leaders of the that local TG organization, a Mr. Ryan Blackhawke:

    “She’s done absolutely no outreach to the LGBT community….
    She’s made a number of homophobic statements… and has been carrying a 30 year grudge…”

    He has no idea of what I do for WHEEL and our partners in Seattle and the number and kind of people I speak to each week
    .
    But he has been rather busy lately defending sockpuppet blogger Laurel Ramsayer (Lurleen Blogovitch) and spending his time unmaking friends!

    • Aidan WhiteFinch says:

      This guy? Seems a really popular fellow (from Linkedin) – Does that job description mean that even though he’s a sell out/suck up – he still can’t get work? Kinda a chump to sell out and get nothing.

      ==============================
      Ryan Blackhawke

      Independent Civic & Social Organization Professional

      Location
      Greater Seattle Area
      Industry
      Civic & Social Organization

      Ryan Blackhawke’s Overview

      Connections

      1 connection

  9. Megan says:

    Cathy Brennan: saddest troll ever.

Leave a Reply

