I Think One of Lewis Black’s Favorite Phrases is Appropriate Here

Namely…

HOLY FUCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

From the Boston Herald:

“I’ve been making a lot of money for a decade and a half,” said Toby Keith, on the phone from Saratoga, N.Y.

Many people in his audience have taken huge knocks in the recession. So, Keith was asked, should those in his income bracket be more heavily taxed, as Warren Buffett advocates, to help ease America’s financial crisis?

“I don’t know, but I expect the wealthy to write a check ’cause it’s as bad as it’s ever been,” the Oklahoma-born Keith said. “It would be unpatriotic not to try to save the country. I’m sure people will bitch about it, but if it meant we get to operate in this country and live here another day, then so be it.

“One way or another, before it’s over they’re gonna have to come and take big money from the earners and big corporations to save the country. I’m sure that everybody that has a patriotic cell in their system will say, ‘If it’s gotta be done, it’s gotta be done.’ I’d rather live here and not have as much money than live anywhere else and have twice as much.”

John Boehner, Eric Cantor and Paul Ryan held a joint news conference to address this remarkably reality-based comment from a country music star who was a rabidly pro-Bush during the manufacturing of the justification for the Iraq War as anyone.  Sayeth the Republicans:

La! La! La! La! La! La! I can’t hear you! La! La! La! La! La! La! I can’t hear you! La! La! La! La! La! La! I can’t hear you! La! La! La! La! La! La! I can’t hear you! La! La! La! La! La! La! I can’t hear you! La! La! La! La! La! La! I can’t hear you! La! La! La! La! La! La! I can’t hear you! La! La! La! La! La! La! I can’t hear you! La! La! La! La! La! La! I can’t hear you!

Sayeth Katrina Rose: Okay, that last quote is fake, but the one from Toby Keith appears to be legit.

2 Responses to I Think One of Lewis Black’s Favorite Phrases is Appropriate Here

  1. […] yes, remember the buzz that this got? “I’ve been making a lot of money for a decade and a half,” said Toby Keith, on the phone […]

  2. […] yes, remember the buzz that this got? “I’ve been making a lot of money for a decade and a half,” said Toby Keith, on the phone […]

Leave a Reply

